Scientific Advisory Committee

QCRI has engaged a distinguished group of international scholars, scientists, and engineers to advise the institute on strategic issues in order to maximize the quality and impact of research investments and to enhance the reputation of the institute.  Chaired by Ruzena Bajcsy, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California - Berkeley, and Director Emeritus of the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Science (CITRIS), the Scientific Advisory Committee meets twice a year to assess QCRI’s progress and make recommendations for future endeavors.

Committee Members


Ruzena Bajcsy, University of California - Berkeley, Chair

Farnam Jahanian.png

Farnam Jahanian, Carnegie Mellon University

Yousef khalidi.jpg

Yousef Khalidi, Microsoft Azure


Lew Tucker, Cisco

Saif Al Kuwari pic.jpg

Saif Al-Kuwari, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Qatar

wooldridge pic.png

Michael Wooldridge, University of Oxford

Previous Scientific Advisory Committee Members


Alfred V. Aho, Columbia University


Peter Cochrane, Cochrane Associates

DR. Richard Demillo (2).jpg

Rich DeMillo, Georgia Tech, Former Chair


Lord Rupert Redesdale, UK House of Lords


Dick Lipton, Georgia Tech


Abdulla Al Talib, Qatar Mobility Innovations Center

, Al-Nasr tower, Doha, Qatar.